In search of Humanity!!!

Humanity.. I do not actually know what explanation the dictionary gives for this, but in my opinion, it is the act of a human extending help to the next human whenever required and whenever possible. The question is, is every single human up to this. No, not at all. I happened to witness this in a couple of instances.

One incident was at a hospital. While I was waiting for my turn to visit the doctor, a woman who was sitting behind me had breathing trouble. She needed help! For some reason, I did not notice that until the person next me had turned back to check what was happening. When I looked back to find out what the problem was, I understood she required attention and immediately went near her to check what was wrong. Finally, I had to inform the nurse about the emergency condition. However, after a while, I realized that no one was there to help her. I was shocked how could people just sit and watch somebody suffer and literally leave them alone struggling in front of them.

Do not be bothered about anybody other than your family & friends” –  This is how people are. This is the way the world is. This is what parents teach their kids. Nevertheless, I feel this should change. At least, if one is sure that he/she will not get into any problems by extending help, he/she should help the next person.

This can happen to us. Imagine if we need help and we see no one around helping. Then we will realize what it is to ignore when someone needs help.

There is no value in talking about technology, science, spirituality if we do have this basic sense of responsibility of helping the needy.

I feel the below picture better explains what Humanity is!!!

s-l1000

Photo Courtesy: The Internet

Leave a Reply

